It will cost Sh100 to ride new city commuter train - Beaking Kenya News

Beaking Kenya News

Where It All Happens

Breaking Kenya News

Websites Development


Tuesday, 17 November 2020

It will cost Sh100 to ride new city commuter train


Passengers will pay Sh100 a ride on the Nairobi Commuter Railway System to each destination.

Kenya Railways on Sunday released the official Nairobi Commuter Train complete schedule.

The new Diesel Multiple Unit commuter trains will operate on a fixed daily schedule across Nairobi.

Commuter train services cover the Nairobi-Imara Daima-Syokimau route, the Nairobi-Githurai-Mwiki-Kahawa–Ruiru route, the Nairobi-Embakasi route and the Nairobi-Kibera–Kikuyu route.

While launching the commuter rail system last week, President Kenyatta said those stations will be served by five of the 11 refurbished DMUs bought from Spain for Sh1.15 billion. 

All passengers must adhere to the Covid-19 safety measures. Violators will not be allowed to board.

Seven trains will depart from Embakasi Village daily with arrival time supposed to be at 6.27am, 7.08am, 8.08am, 10.23am, 12.18pm, 2.18pm and 7.23pm.

Each journey will take at least 20 minutes, with Nairobi Central Station the final stop.

Commuters heading to Kahawa West will have to board at Nairobi Central Terminus at 8am and will pass through Makadara, Dandora, Mwiki and Githurai before arriving at the last top at 8.55am.

The commuter train will depart daily from the Kahawa West Station at 9am, passing through the same stations and stopping, before arriving at the Nairobi Central Terminus 10.15am.

One train will leave Nairobi Central Station for Ruiru daily in the evening, departing at 5.40 pm, passing through Makadara, Dandora, Mwiki, Githurai, Kahawa West and arriving at 7.10pm.

In the morning, the train will leave Ruiru at 6am, passing through the above stations and arriving in the CBD at 7.35am.

The commuter train will depart daily in the morning from Kikuyu at 6am,passing through Dagoretti and Kibra stations and arriving at Nairobi Central Terminus at 7.30am.

The evening schedule is the same, with trains departing Nairobi Central station at 5.35 pm and arriving at Kikuyu station at 7.10 pm.

Six trains will depart daily from the Syokimau station heading to the Nairobi Central station at 6.25am and arriving in the CBD at 6.53am.

The rest will depart Syokimau at different times (7.22 am, 8.57am, 10.45am, 2.35 pm and 8.18 pm and arrive in the CBD.

They will be making stops at Makadara and Imara Daima stations.

No comments: