Boga wins ODM ticket for Msambweni by-election - Beaking Kenya News

Beaking Kenya News

Where It All Happens

Breaking Kenya News

Websites Development


Friday, 2 October 2020

Boga wins ODM ticket for Msambweni by-election


Former Bongwe-Gombato MCA Omar Boga has won the ODM ticket for the upcoming Msambweni MP by-election set for December 15.

ODM nominations took place on Thursday.

Boga garnered 6,183 votes against his closes competitor  Nicholas Zani's 530.

The votes were counted from 61 centres.

The Msambweni parliamentary seat was declared vacant by IEBC early this month.

The area MP Suleiman Dori succumbed to cancer in March.

The tallying on Thursday was done at Jomo Kenyatta primary school in Msambweni.

Boga was voted for most at Magutu polling centre in Ukunda where he got 521 votes out of 526.

A titak if 44 votes from Shirazi Primary School were nullified because they were submitted unofficially.

According to Msambweni ODM returning officer Odoyo, the results were presented through a piece of paper.

"When we give you official documents to fill in the results then make sure the agents and the one representing that poll centre have signed, " he said.

He will now compete with other party candidates for the Msambweni parliamentary seat.

Boga's win is expected to give the party more power to subdue other opponents in the forthcoming by-elections.

The overjoyed Boga said he was pleased that the election was conducted fairly and peacefully.

He said he was willing to work with anyone to see that Msambweni locals have a good leader.

He asked Zani to combine forces with him in defeating the Tanga Tanga team.

While briefing the media Zani said he was sure that he would emerge a winner asking Boga to continue helping one another as before.

"He is my a good friend of mine and I have always supported him, today's results should not bring enmity between us, " he said.

Earlier the nomination exercise begun with some hitches.

The voting started late in most areas while in others some names couldn't be found in the voter registration lists.

The ones disputing the results have 48 hours to present their complaint.

No comments: