Inter-Faith Council hands its report ahead of Uhuru's national address - Beaking Kenya News

Beaking Kenya News

Where It All Happens

Breaking Kenya News

Websites Development


Monday, 6 July 2020

Inter-Faith Council hands its report ahead of Uhuru's national address

Interior CS Fred Matiang'i receives the report from Inter Faith Council Chairperson Rev. Anthony Muheria on Monday July 6, 2020.

The Inter-Faith Council has handed over its first report on the protocols to be followed once the places of worship will be reopened.

The council handed its report to the Interior CS Fred Matiang'i and his Health counterpart Mutahi Kagwe on Monday.

The team of 16 members headed by Nyeri Catholic Archbishop Anthony Muheria was established on June 12 following a directive from President Uhuru Kenyatta.

The team had been given until July 6 to handover its first report.


Matiang'i and Kagwe are expected to handover the report to Uhuru before his address to the nation later on Monday.

"We‘ll present it to the National Security Council, chaired by H.E. President Uhuru Kenyatta, for review and further action," Matiang'i said after receiving the report.

The President will be giving an update regarding the situation of the Coronavirus.

He is expected to address the issue of measures to curb further spread of the virus which has hit 7,000, with Nairobi and Mombasa Counties leading with most of the cases.

The President is also expected to address curfew and cessation order imposed in Nairobi, Mombasa and Mandera Counties.

In his last address last month, Uhuru had extended cessation in the three counties for 30 days, which will end on July 6.

He also extended the nationwide dusk-dawn curfew by a further 30 days.

The members to the council included Rt. (Rev.) Bishop John Obala, Rt. (Rev.) Bishop Joseph Obanyi, Moderator Julius Mwamba Rev. (Can.) Chris Kamau Kinyanjui Rev. (Can.) Rosemary Mbogo Pastor, Samuel Makori and Al Hajj Hassan Ole Naado.

Others are Sheikh Sukyan Hassan Omar, Sheikh Abdulatif Abdulkarim, Rev. (Fr.) Joseph Mutie, Bishop David Oginde, Rev. Connie Kivuti, Sujata Kotamraju, Rt. Rev. Samuel Thiong’o Mwangi and Sheikh Ali Saidi Samojah.

The council will be joined by the three secretaries who are Kepha Ombacho, Francis Kagema and Paul Famba.

No comments: